Alia Bhatt scores thrice! She wins Best Actress Award over Sonam Kapoor again – this time at IIFA!

SKJ Bollywood News Correspondent

Sonam Kapoor and Alia Bhatt has been both competing for the best actress awards for their performances in Neerja and Udta Punjab; the younger actress has earlier won Best Actress at the Screen and Filmfare awards earlier this year while Sonam Kapoor was given the Special Mention Award at the National Awards.  

This year the IIFA Awards, (conceptualized and produced by Wizcraft International Entertainment), held at the Metlife Stadium in New Jersey saw Karan Johar and Saif Ali Khan hosting it.

The pair amazed the crowd present with their quick wit, leaving them often in splits with their amusing one-liners and on-stage chemistry. 

The show kicked off with Alia Bhattperforming on the awards stage for the very first time since her debut in Bollywood five years ago followed by performances by Salman Khan, Katrina Kaif, Varun Dhawan, Shahid Kapoor, Sushant Singh Rajput and Kriti Sanon.

Varun celebrated his father’s legacy in Bollywood. This year, IIFA presented the Woman of the Year Award to actress Taapsee Pannu and The Myntra Style Icon to Alia Bhatt. The award night included Anil Kapoor and Sudhanshu Vats, Group CEO -Viacom18 honoring AR Rahman for his illustrious career and work as they celebrated his 25 years in the industry


The IIFA Awards Winners:

  • Best Picture- Neerja
  • Best Story-Ayesha Devitre Dhillon, Shakun Batra (Kapoor & Sons)
  •  Best Performance in a comic role- Varun Dhawan (Dishoom)
  • Best Direction- Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury (Pink)
  • Best Actor in a leading role Female-Alia Bhatt (Udta Punjab)
  •    Best Actor in a leading role Male-Shahid Kapoor (Udta Punjab)

  •      Best Lyricist-Amitabh Bhattacharya (Channa Mereya)
  • Best Music Director-Pritam (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)
  • Best Negative Role- Jim Sarbh (Neerja)
  • Best Playback Singer Female- Kanika Kapoor (Udta Punjab- Da Da Dasse) and Tulsi Kumar (Airlift- Soch Na Sake)
  • Best Playback singer Male- Amit Mishra(Ae Dil Hai Mushkil- Bulleya)
  • Supporting Actor  Female- Shabana Azmi (Neerja)
  • Supporting Actor Male  Anupam Kher (M.S. Dhoni)
  • Myntra Style Icon Award-Alia Bhatt
  • Woman of the Year- Taapsee Pannu
  • Best Debut Male- Diljit Dosanjh (Udta Punjab)
  • Best Debut Female- Disha Patani(M.S. Dhoni)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social profiles